Showing posts with label Moscato. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Moscato. Show all posts

Friday, 18 March 2022

Montevecchio Bianco Field Blend 2021

 


The complexity is in the making not the enjoying. A mega field blend, this slides down all too easily. A wine that is a fab go-to for a casual gathering with friends.

Montevecchio Moscato Frizzante 2020


 

Here's cheers to an easy refreshment. A Moscato with a slight spritz to tickle your fancy - if you like them a little sweeter.

Wednesday, 10 November 2021

Witches Falls Moscato 2021

 

With a light spritz, this is like a taste of sideshow alley. It's all fun and playful with a bit of sweetness.

Tuesday, 23 March 2021

De Bortoli Petit Moscato Frizzante NV

 


A bottle of fun dripping in crowd-pleasing appeal. The good folk at De Bortoli suggest this is, "Perfect for dressing up a garden party or any occasion with your closest girlfriends." That pretty much sums it up.

Thursday, 23 July 2020

Chateau Yaldara Moscato NV


Words I never thought I'd say: Non Vintage Moscato. Here's a wine that's quite engaging - much to my surprise. The best Moscato I've ever had and that's saying something.

Thursday, 8 November 2018

Pizzini Lana Moscato 2018

We all can't take life too seriously, so here's a little bit of fun. I gave a glass of this to my mum. She doesn't drink wine and she told me she enjoyed it. I'll take it as a win of sorts.

Monday, 26 June 2017

Wednesday, 24 May 2017

Twisted Gum Moscato 2017


This could be the best Moscato I have ever had. Mind you, I generally steer clear of the style so have little to compare it to. Perceptions have taken a turn after looking at this release from Twisted Gum.

Sunday, 6 November 2016

Pizzini Lana Moscato 2016



Made for drinkin' not thinkin'. Chill it down ice cold and it barely touches the sides on a hot day. You can see why these sweeter style wines are a hit in the market. And this one has bubbles for added appeal. Super low alcohol here too at 6.9%.

The back label suggests musk and old school lemonade - I can't better that. That musk carries through from gate to post.

Drink now when it's steaming hot or when your trying to impress your sweet toothed nanna.

87/100 - Good

Region: King Valley
RRP: $20
Source: Sample

www.pizzini.com.au

Subscribe to Qwine here

Follow me: Twitter Qwine Instagram _Qwine

Saturday, 11 April 2015

Twisted Gum Pink Moscato 2014

Slip in a straw and off you go.

A very easy drinking wine made for pure enjoyment. Only 3.5 drinks (6%) in the bottle.

Flavours of musk sticks, rose water and Turkish delight are the key players.

Sure there is some sugar but there were no complaints when this was shared with friends. In fact it was gone in no time. A pleasant change from the norm I must say.

Made for immediate enjoyment.

Good stuff.

Region: Granite Belt
RRP: $25
Source: Sample

www.twistedgum.com.au

Follow me @Qwine

Monday, 23 March 2015

Yalumba Christobel's Moscato 2014

This is a pleasant enough aperitif.

Pretty aromatics. Musk, rose water, purple flowers and some tropical fruit spill out of the glass. A refreshing drop which is quite cleansing and dangerously slurpable. But sugar has that effect doesn't it? In this case, 50g/L and only 8.5% alcohol. There's a nice spritz which makes it even more appealing for those stinking hot days when in search of some refreshment.

Tell you what though, it would make a fair slushy too. Pour out a glass from the bottle, freeze the remainder and then shake it hard. Presto, instant slushy!

Readily available and often priced below the stated RRP.

Good.

Region: Not specified but from South Australia
RRP: $15
Source: Sample

www.yalumba.com

Follow me @Qwine

Wednesday, 26 March 2014

Twisted Gum Pink Moscato 2013

Tim Coelli at Twisted Gum sells out of this gear year after year and it's easy to see how. Turkish delight, strawberries... Just simple drinking, sweet guzzle juice.

Talking to a few of the locals, winemaker Andy Williams is known as the "Moscato King" on the Granite Belt. Perhaps he just knows what the ladies like because that is the demographic going ga ga for this.

It fits the market specs ideally and only being 6.5% alcohol, it doesn't touch the sides on the way down. Those who don't drink a lot of wine would appreciate this, as would those with a sweet tooth. Expensive for a Moscato in my opinion ($25), but clearly that counts for little if 2050 bottles are selling out quickly each year.

Chill it, grab a straw, kick the feet up.

Share with friends and a big smile.


Who: Twisted Gum Wines
What: Moscato (6.5% alc)
Where: Granite Belt
When: 2013
How: $25

www.twistedgum.com.au

Follow me @Qwine

Thursday, 12 September 2013

Bimbadgen Moscato NV

Sweet tooth? Wine ain't your thing? This could bring you round.

Wines like these aren't for analysis, they are simply to be enjoyed with lots of fun a frivolity.

Not normally my style of wine, the time was right, the mood was right, and damn, I needed a frosty cold glass of something. This tastes like grapes (grab a handful from the supermarket and you'll know what I mean), has a florally aroma, has bubbles and is pink...all you need to know in that respect.

I like the presentation of the bottle with a crown seal. Rip this off and drop a straw in. With only 3.6 drinks in the bottle, it's hard not to chug back. I poured a glass on a ridiculously hot afternoon and it was gone in no time. There was no complaint from those I shared it with either who also generally shy away from this style of wine.

Worth a look for that hot summer time BBQ. Even better, handy for the driver to sip away at.

Who: Bimbadgen
What: Moscato (6% alc)
Where: Hunter Valley
When: NV
How: $18

www.bimbadgen.com.au

Friday, 24 August 2012

Wolf Blass Red Label Pink Moscato

This wine is made for a whole lot of fun and to simply rip the top off and enjoy.

There's no complexity, nothing to think about.

Pointed at the female market, this is a good drop to tuck under your arm when socialising at a weekend picnic or BBQ. Low on the alcohol (6.5%) with only 3.5 drinks in the bottle.

You can guzzle this without too much trouble. It's sweet and pink - the ladies will love it for sure.

An attractive bouquet of musk and roses. Chill and enjoy!

Who: Wolf Blass http://www.wolfblasswines.com/
What: Pink Moscato (6.5% alc)
When: NV
How: $14

Follow me: www.twitter.com/Qwine