Tuesday, 14 July 2020

Balgownie Estate Merlot Cabernet Franc 2018

Low cropping levels enabled the Merlot and Cabernet Franc to be co-fermented. I'm reliably informed by winemaker Tony Winspear that the usual difference in harvest is two weeks. A dry and tannic wine from Balgownie's Bendigo vineyards.

Maverick Barossa Ridge Shiraz 2018


Quite a young wine and no where near its best. You get a sense of precision about the way it struts, but for now, its suit looks tight fitting and neck tie rushed.

Monday, 13 July 2020

Saturday, 11 July 2020

Friday, 10 July 2020

Pyramids Road Petit Verdot 2019


Winemaker Warren Smith loves Petit Verdot. He's always pretty chuffed with the fruit he is able to source from his grower to the north-west of Stanthorpe.

Maverick Twin Barrel Select GSM 2018


A big, thick set GSM. 

Thursday, 9 July 2020

Brand and Sons Glenroy Shiraz 2016



A tense and hard nosed wine on opening, it needed time to relax. It was completely different on day three of tasting - the beauty of looking at wines over a few days as opposed to only 30 seconds in a wine show.

Zema Estate Cabernet Sauvignon 2016



Ribbons of mint flourish through this Coonawarra Cabernet. 

Singlefile The Vivienne Chardonnay 2017

An outstanding Chardonnay. Named after co-founder Vivienne Snowden, this is a Chablis style that oozes class. Just brilliant.

Tuesday, 7 July 2020

Golden Grove Estate Nero d'Avola 2019

So juicy. So supple. So delicious. The best Golden Grove Estate Nero d'Avola release for a few years, a sip turned into a glass which turned into a few, and well, you know... This is a fabulous wine.

Dirt Candy The White Knight Pet Nat 2020


Pet Nat is the cool play thing at present. Check this 100% Chardonnay effort from Dirt Candy. It's super refreshing.

Vino Intrepido Wolf on Sheep's Clothing Pinot Grigio 2019

Damn this is a delicious Pinot Grigio! It smashes the target for maximum enjoyment and then some.

Wild and Wilder The Unforgettable GSM 2019


Everything you want in a good GSM - fruit, earth, spice and price. 

Monday, 6 July 2020

Happy 9th Birthday to Qwine Reviews!

Whole Bunch Fermentation at Yelland & Papps

Today marks the 9th birthday of Qwine Reviews!

Time flies when you're having fun and what a delicious ride it has been - some 4200 wine reviews to date and counting... 

In the last twelve months, I've travelled to the Yarra Valley, Granite Belt, Coonawarra, Hunter Valley, Waipara and Central Otago districts of New Zealand, McLaren Vale and the Barossa Valley.

And although I am privileged to check out some amazing wines, it's the people behind the label which always impress me with their passion, their story and their talent.

Sunday, 5 July 2020

Balgownie Estate Cabernet Sauvignon 2017


Pop Balgownie Estate on your list of wineries to check out. With a foot rarely put wrong, winemaker Tony Winspear is making some smart wines from their Bendigo vineyards. This Cabernet is another winner in the range. 

Zema Estate Family Selection Shiraz 2015


Buy now and indulge in later. A wine for the long haul.

Dirt Candy The Wild One Shiraz Cabernet 2019



My 400th review for 2020 so let's make it a good one. And this Hunter Valley blend certainly is. This Dirt Candy 70/30 Shiraz Cabernet comes off vines nearing 40 years of age. 

Friday, 3 July 2020

Zema Estate Shiraz 2016


Some wines offer value time after time yet continue to sneak under the radar. I find Zema Estate wines don't get the credit they deserve at times. This Shiraz is a beauty, as was the Cluny 2016. A wine which will reward patience but it is good to go now as well.

Berton Vineyard Metal Label Vermentino 2020



A tropical fruit scented Vermentino from the Riverina that comes across more like a Sauv Blanc.

Wild and Wilder The Pugilist Cabernet Sauvignon 2019


Langhorne Creek Cabernet in a good place. 

Lévrier Cabernet Franc 2017

An intriguing Barossa Valley Cabernet Franc with plenty going on.

Thursday, 2 July 2020

Tuesday, 30 June 2020

Oliver's Taranga Vermentino 2020


Dangerously refreshing, arm yourself with this when things warm up as spring and summer come at you.

Sunday, 28 June 2020

Balgownie Estate Viognier 2019


I was saddened to hear that fire ripped through the kitchen at Balgownie's Yarra Valley Estate a few days ago. Thankfully no one was injured but there was severe damage through the building. All this when the hospitality industry is already struggling in these Covid times.
This Viognier comes from Balgownie Estate's Bendigo vineyards and is their first release of the variety since 2010.

Vino Intrepido Straight Jakot Friulano 2019

There's not a lot of Friulano in Australia but there are now two sites I'm aware of in the Mornington Peninsula region. This is one of those wines you'd be happy absorbing the scents as you try and dissect all the interesting aromas present.

Cloud Cuckoo Land Fiano Greco Zibibbo 2019


Quite an eclectic blend of three varieties all sourced from South Australia's Riverland.

Wild Game The Countess Sparkling Pinot Gris 2019



Sparkling Pinot Gris - I can't say I've had one before. Blush in appearance, the fruit is sourced from Mt Gambier, south of Wild Game's Coonawarra home.

Saturday, 27 June 2020

Vino Intrepido Blood of My Blood Sangiovese 2019

If you enjoy Sangiovese you'll be sure to thoroughly enjoy this release made from Heathcote fruit.

Vino Intrepido Spanner in the Works Nebbiolo 2019


James Scarcebrook is The Intrepid Wino. His passion is contagious and you can find him discussing all things wine on his podcast named The Vincast or catch him going about his exploration on his YouTube site. He's also ventured into winemaking and has produced a range of wines since 2016. I was thrilled to receive an email from James not too long ago asking if I could review some of his new releases. And what a place to start with this beauty! This is no spanner in the works either, let it be known. It is best described as an impressive rendition of Nebbiolo.

Wild Game The Duchess Riesling 2019


A very approachable wine that offers good refreshment without a great deal of complexity. 

Garbin Estate Sangiovese 2019


A straight up and down Sangiovese.

Wild and Wilder The Courtesan Riesling 2019


Clare Valley Riesling rarely misses the mark.

Friday, 26 June 2020

Garbin Estate Sangiovese Rosé 2020


Bright and inviting in the glass, this Sangiovese Rosé looks like watermelon juice.

Garbin Estate Chenin Blanc 2020


Chenin Blanc is a variety that doesn't come across this tasting bench all that much. Western Australia is where it has found a happy home but there are a few pockets here and there dotted around the rest of the country.

Garbin Estate Verdelho 2020


My first review from the 2020 vintage. This Verdelho comes all the way from Western Australia's Swan Valley.

Thursday, 25 June 2020

Wild Game The Duke Cabernet Sauvignon 2013


Quality + bottle age... Is this the bargain bottle of the year?

Balgownie Estate Bendigo Shiraz 2017

Gee I enjoyed this. Perhaps too much? A wonderful Shiraz from Balgownie Estate's Bendigo vineyards.

Brand and Sons CBD Shiraz 2014


The one that got away... This review has been sitting around patiently awaiting release. The CBD label was one of a few new releases to come from Coonawarra's Brand & Sons. Some very impressive wines are in the range too which are well worth checking out.

Wednesday, 24 June 2020

Wild and Wilder Opportunist Shiraz 2019


I've sampled a few Langhorne Creek wines in recent weeks. Generosity is a hallmark of the district and this release from Wild and Wilder is true to form.

Wild and Wilder The Exhibitionist Merlot 2019


A easy drinking Merlot to cure your mid-week blues.