Tuesday, 4 October 2022

Yelland and Papps Single Vineyard Vermentino 2021

 

Considered with its game face on, interest comes in buckets - it's the Yelland & Papps way. This is a fantastic take on Vermentino. Take me to Sardinia and feed me all the seafood.

Tomich Woodside Vineyard Chardonnay 2021

 

What a great Chardonnay for 25 bucks! Here is another example that you don't need to spend big to drink well.

Sunday, 2 October 2022

O’Leary Walker Polish Hill River Riesling 2022

 

Boom! Steely, focused and damn fantastic. A brilliant Riesling, this is the best Polish Hill River release from O'Leary Walker that I have seen to date. Bravo.

Lyons Will Riesling 2022

 

I love this. What a drink! It's minerally, it's focused and it zeros in on the pleasure zone with pinpoint accuracy. Well played Lyons Will.

Levantine Hill Blanc de Blanc 2016

 

This is a great fizz from Levantine Hill. Classy stuff, I can't help but feel fancy with this in the glass. It offers yet another reason to support local rather than those mass produced Frenchies.

Saturday, 1 October 2022

O’Leary Walker Watervale Riesling 2022

 

Deliciously fragrant, this is a super expression of Watervale Riesling. From a year that mirrored the outstanding 2002, get in the queue for this ripping 2022.

Lambert Wines Syrah 2021

 

If you need a dose of medium bodied delish you ought to head this way. A layered and silky Syrah awaits.

Georges Road Block Three Riesling 2021

 


A minerally driven off-dry Riesling with eight grams of residual sugar, find a spicy Asian inspired dish to take you to your happy place.

Black Estate Damsteep Pinot Noir 2020

 


Another fascinating Pinot Noir from New Zealand's Waipara region, this Black Estate Damsteep is expressive and layered.

Friday, 30 September 2022

Arila Gardens Gardens of Moppa Shiraz 2021

 

Just imagine squished red berries and mulberries rolled in a dark chocolate crumb and that's pretty much what's going on here. 

Pegasus Bay Pinot Noir 2020

 

Moreish and delicious in equal doses, the delicacy and generosity of these Pegasus Bay Pinots are captivating.

Yelland and Papps Sparkling Vermentino 2019

 

Vermentino has me thinking of sunshine and seafood but this sparkling carries some weight given the style.

Pegasus Bay Chardonnay 2019

 

Like your Chardonnays generous? Here is your weapon! There is so much to grab onto here. Handfuls of interest beckon for your attention. 

Tuesday, 27 September 2022

Yarra Yering Chardonnay 2021

 


In a word - precise. There is so much to adore with this fine-boned expression of Chardonnay. It's seemingly in a class of its own.

Hoddles Creek 1er Pinot Noir 2021

 


The pool of excellent Yarra Valley Pinot Noir continues to get deeper. If you are yet to come across this Hoddles Creek 1er, I highly recommend that you introduce yourself. It's a beauty!

Driftwood Single Site Chardonnay 2021

 


Margaret River Chardonnay is awesome when done well and here we have another example. Interest awaits around every corner. This is an excellent wine. 

Driftwood Single Site Cabernet Sauvignon 2020

 

This is good. Really good! It has that yin and yang appeal as the fruit and savoury goodness playfully seek the upper hand. 

Monday, 26 September 2022

Pegasus Bay Sauvignon Blanc 2021

 

Classy and considered, this is a superb Sauvignon Blanc. Yet to be released in Australia and New Zealand, what a treat it is to have a sneak peek at wines like these. 

Hoddles Creek PSB Pinot Noir 2021

 

Although only a small quantity was produced, this is an excellent Pinot Noir from Hoddles Creek.

Tomich Woodside Vineyard Pinot Noir 2021

 

A dense and spicy Pinot from the Adelaide Hills. 

Sunday, 25 September 2022

Hoddles Creek 1er Chardonnay 2021

 

Due for release on 10 October, I had the luxury of having a sneak peek at this 1er with Franco D'Anna in his winery last week. A Chardonnay of supreme class, line up for this one.

Wickhams Road Riesling 2022


A new label in the Wickhams Road range, I was lucky enough to have a quick look at this Riesling with Franco D'Anna at the winery last week. From the Yea Valley, this is a fab wine. Throw it in the ice bucket and get ready to summer.

Tomich Woodside Vineyard Rosé 2021

 

This Pinot Noir Rosé is hyped and ready to charge at your soiree. Great stuff this.

Friday, 23 September 2022

Heggies Vineyard Estate Chardonnay 2019

 

I like this - a lot. If you enjoy oaky and flinty Chardys I suggest you wander over this way. This is a great drink with plenty in the bag to impress.

Castle Rock Estate Riesling 2022

 

From the Porongurup Range in the Great Southern region comes Castle Rock Estate's flagship wine. A blend of six blocks, this is an impressive wine giving many reasons to enjoy it enthusiastically during the warmer months.

Yalumba GEN Organic Shiraz 2021

 


The only red in the new Yalumba GEN Organic and sustainable range but I suspect that may not be the case in the years to come. A Shiraz that ticks the boxes, in my opinion, this is the best of the five on offer.

Yalumba GEN Organic Chardonnay 2022


When you have some market reach and plenty of vineyards to access, hitting every consumer market comes easy. Enter Yalumba's new GEN Organic and sustainable range that is also vegan friendly. This Chardonnay is a tidy drink and the best of the four whites in the range.

Yalumba GEN Organic Viognier 2022

 


Yalumba does entry-level Viognier better than anyone and this new GEN Organic release proves that point once more. Although I'd prefer the superior Y Series, this is a handy wine make no mistake.

Yalumba GEN Organic Pinot Grigio 2022

 

Part of Yalumba's new GEN Organic range, it is much like its Sauvignon Blanc sibling - there isn't much to bang on about here. Thin without wow factor but it will please those who enjoy simple wines.

Yalumba GEN Organic Sauvignon Blanc 2022

 


Yalumba's latest range of wines is pitched at the Organic and sustainability market. They are vegan too. 

Thursday, 22 September 2022

Hoddles Creek Syberia Chardonnay 2020

I saw a lot of excellent Chardonnays over the last few days when travelling around the Yarra Valley and this was right in the groove. A few more prestigious brands would be charging much more than the current asking price. Leap in and treat yourself.

Hoddles Creek 1er Pinot Blanc 2022


I caught up with Franco D'Anna this week at his Hoddles Creek winery and we had a quick look through a few new releases. This Pinot Blanc is a streetsmart character. For those not familiar with the variety, to sum it up briefly, it's a little bit Pinot Gris and a little bit Chardonnay. But all you need to know is that it is a superb wine.

Sutton Grange Fairbank Rosé 2021


I was told to have a porchetta roll from Heart Attack and Vine before leaving Melbourne this week. It's a good thing I'm very compliant when it comes to all things porkalicious. I grabbed a glass of this Sutton Grange off the list and what fabulous lunchtime wine it is.

Greystone Organic Chardonnay 2020

 

Another wonderful Chardonnay from New Zealand's Waipara region.

Pewsey Vale Estate Riesling 2022

 


Celebrating 175 years of the Pewsey Vale Vineyard, this is a glorious wine for some day drinking action. Poolside, seaside, parkside, splash it generously in the glasses of those who laugh out loud. What a way to kick back!

Friday, 16 September 2022

International Grenache Day 16 September

 

Some days are worth celebrating more than others. Along with International Bacon Day and International Ice Cream Day, another podium-worthy day is International Grenache Day. Fact!

One of the most planted varieties in the world, Grenache has found a happy home in Australia's McLaren Vale and Barossa regions. There is so much to embrace given the variety's diversity. I love it so much that I wrote a book about it!

If you're yet to dip your oar into the ocean of Grenache beauty, check a few of these to wet your whistle and get knee-deep in deliciousness.

Yalumba Tri-Centenary Grenache 2019

Willunga 100 Trott Vineyard Grenache 2021

Yangarra Estate Ovitelli Grenache 2020

Hutton Vale Grenache Mataro 2018

Oliver's Taranga RW Grenache 2021

Yalumba Barossa Grenache Shiraz Mataro 2018

Ox Hardy Grenache 2021

Yalumba Vine Vale Grenache 2021

Schild Estate Edgar Schild Grenache 2020

Tonic Wines Grenache 2020

Hayes Family Wines Koonunga Creek Block Grenache 2021

Hayes Family Wines Estate Block 2 Grenache 2021

Thistledown Vagabond Grenache 2021

Thistledown She's Electric Grenache 2021

Turkey Flat Grenache 2020


Subscribe to Qwine here

Follow me: Twitter and Instagram 

These reviews are free to access. If you enjoy the content, consider a donation:

Yalumba Tri-Centenary Grenache 2019

 

I looked at this wine 12 months ago and it has softened up significantly since. Quite tense not long after release, this is a glorious and dangerously smooth expression of Grenache.

Yelland and Papps Single Vineyard Old Vine Grenache 2021

 

This goes deep. Very deep. A Grenache grown on Survivor Vines (70 years+) in the Vine Vale sands, it offers plenty to consider. Want a Grenache with personality? Go here.

Thursday, 15 September 2022

Jim Brand Domain Cabernets 2019

 


One of the very best red wines to have come across the tasting bench this year, this is all about clever blending, great fruit and engaging aromas. Made from the top 1% of fruit produced, quite simply, it's an absolutely superb blend. Stand and applaud.

The Boneline Sharkstone Chardonnay 2020

 

This is all about blue skies and whispy white cloud days. Such a delicious and classy Chardonnay, this will evaporate slowly over the afternoon among friends. Just brilliant!

Balnaves Chardonnay 2021

 


A good Chardy to throw at a roast chook.

The Blok Riesling 2019

 

The Blok Riesling has always impressed and this 2019 release is no different.

Tuesday, 13 September 2022

Jim Brand The Remnants Shiraz 2020

 

Oh, this hits the spot. It's smooth, luscious, creates conversation and surges to a seemingly never-ending finish. A ripping Shiraz.

Clandestine Vineyards Mourvedre Rosé 2022

 

A mouthful of creamy delish. A savoury and bone dry Rosé ready for those springtime soirees. 

Gundog Estate Hunter's Shiraz 2021

 

Line and length all the way and all day. A Glenn McGrath style Shiraz hurtling towards you.