Showing posts with label Grampians. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Grampians. Show all posts

Saturday, 29 February 2020

Bailey Wine Co Grampians Shiraz 2016

I reviewed this Grampians Shiraz nearly three years ago soon after release. It's great to have the chance to revisit it and see where things are at, and I'm pleased to report it is aging beautifully.

Sunday, 19 January 2020

Thursday, 1 November 2018

Seppelt St Peters Grampians Shiraz 2017


I've always loved this wine. The quality and consistency is super impressive. This release is a beauty.

Tuesday, 16 October 2018

Seppelt Chalambar Shiraz 2016


A blend of Grampians and Heathcote vineyards, say hello to a satisfying Shiraz ensuring a solid go-to. It's pretty handy value too.

Friday, 18 August 2017

Bailey Wine Co Grampians Shiraz 2016


Pretty aromas. Romantic in many respects. I just want in after taking one whiff. Tim Bailey has hit the nail on the head here. Clever winemaking plus super attractive booze.

Monday, 19 June 2017

Thursday, 12 May 2016

Over the Way Grampians Shiraz 2014

Over the Way is a label made by fellow wine scribe Patrick Ecklel. His range of wines currently numbers five and he draws fruit from the Grampians, Heathcote, Sunbury and Macedon Ranges currently producing 4000 odd bottles.

Hand picked and aged in older French oak for 18 months.

Well presented with a wax seal, this is quite an enjoyable drink. Medium bodied, the fruit strolls through with ease. The older oak comes through. Seems a little too old though. A gentle spice sits on the back of plums, blueberries and mulberry fruit. Soft, it slowly draws out saliva. Dusty and grippy to finish. Tick.

A good mid week tipple.

Good+

Region: Grampians
RRP: $28
Source: Sample

www.overtheway.com.au

Subscribe to Qwine here

Follow me: Twitter Qwine Instagram _Qwine

Thursday, 5 May 2016

Seppelt St Peters Grampians Shiraz 2013

Insane indulgence. I loved the 2012 immensely but this 2013 just goes to another level. Pure would describe this wine best. The expression of fruit is graceful and evocative.

Fourteen months in oak, this gets going with pretty aromas of blue fruits, violets and florals. The fragrance just captures your attention from the outset - a sublime expression of cool climate Shiraz.  Five spice taps away only to be preceded by generous plums, blue fruits edged by a meaty kick. Beautifully balanced, cedary oak rolls through before a super smooth and delicate finish. Tantalising and then some.

I look forward to this St Peters release each year and I'd have no hesitation buying this 2013, that's for sure.

Cellar as long as you want.

Excellent.

Region: Grampians
RRP: $80
Source: Sample

www.seppelt.com.au

Follow me: Twitter Qwine Instagram _Qwine

Saturday, 23 April 2016

Over the Way Grampians Chardonnay 2015

Over the Way is a label made by fellow wine scribe Patrick Ecklel and this is his best offering thus far from the wines I have seen. Well, in my opinion anyway. His range of wines currently numbers five and he draws fruit from Grampians, Heathcote, Sunbury and Macedon Ranges currently producing 4000 odd bottles.

This Chardonnay is a solid package. Barrel fermented with nine months on lees, it is highlighted by white peach, gun powder, whipped butter, spiced vanilla oak, and a squeeze of lemon juice. Citrusy acidity with an underlying minerality wrap things up.

Delivery is long and satisfying. A wine that certainly grows on you with time in the glass.

The asking price is quite modest too.

Drink now to eight years.

Very good.

Region: Grampians
RRP: $22
Source: Sample

www.overtheway.com.au

Subscribe to Qwine here

Follow me: Twitter Qwine Instagram _Qwine

Thursday, 15 October 2015

Best's Great Western Cabernet Sauvignon 2014

This exudes a youthful energy. A bit like a kid skipping about with a handful of lollies with no intention to share. And in some ways I feel a bit like that right now.

Blackberry and boysenberry fruit is juicy and seems to ooze from the glass. The longer it sits a savoury herb character slowly reveals itself. And then the mint steps up ever so cautiously. As does a chip of chocolate or two.

But give me that juicy black fruit any day which coats the mouth generously. Dangerously smooth and smashable this holds the 14% alcohol with ease. Rip in now or hold on to it for the long term.

Very good.

Region: Grampians
RRP: $25
Source: Sample

www.bestswines.com

Follow me: Twitter Qwine Instagram _Qwine

Wednesday, 16 September 2015

Best's Great Western Riesling 2015

Wowsers! There's a mouthwatering purity about this Riesling. It hits the target in every aspect. The fruit is excellent, acid is spot on and as a package it's terrifically balanced.

Think white flowers, squeezed limes, fresh green apples. A little longer in the glass gives a fresh cut pear aroma but the bracing citrusy goodness takes hold and drives through.

Superb for the money. Drink now but will age well. But why wait I say.

Region: Grampians
RRP: $25
Source: Sample

Follow me @Qwine

Saturday, 12 September 2015

Best's Great Western Bin 1 Shiraz 2014

I got lost for words momentarily and the pure sense of satisfaction won me over here. What an awesome drop for $25!

I have a thing for medium bodied Victorian Shiraz at the moment and this beauty ticks all the boxes.

After composing myself I just listed words: brambly, mulberry, violets, minerally, blueberry, dark chocolate, dried Mediterranean herbs, and a sprinkle of pepper to finish. Layers and layers of flavour, each veneer peeling back to reveal something else tucked away. Only classy wines can do this. The 14% alcohol is carried with poise. The soft fine tannin finish is long and moreish. Top me up again - please!

Will age for at least ten years.

Bargain hunters - drop this onto your must buy list. Wine lovers, do the same.

Excellent.

Region: Grampians
RRP: $25
Source: Sample

Follow me @Qwine

Wednesday, 22 October 2014

Seppelt St Peters Grampians Shiraz 2012

Cool climate Shiraz you sexy minx!

Released in exceptional years and grown on schist and granite soils, this Shiraz is matured in oak for fourteen months in a mix of new and old oak.

Pure and plush, there is significant freakin' wow factor here.

Aromas of raspberry, dark cherry, white pepper and a little smokey action. The fruit starts bright and finishes with a beefy kick just as it rolls out. Terrifically balanced and seductive, there's no doubting the granite minerality which hides in the background peeking through ever so cheekily. Dusty tannins finish off a most impressive wine.

Shop around online and you can do up to $20 better than the RRP.

Feed this to me through a drip. Outstanding stuff.

Region: Grampians
RRP: $80
Source: Sample

www.seppelt.com.au

Follow me @Qwine

Monday, 20 October 2014

Friday Drinks on Radio 4BC 17 October - Top booze worth the $$

Last Friday I had a chat with Ben Davis about the Good Food and Wine Show which hit town.

We also discussed some smart very wines. The ones you'd fork out a little more for. And oh my, they are well worth it!

My picks this week:
d'Arenberg The Dead Arm Shiraz 2010 $65

Seppelts St Peters Grampians Shiraz 2012 $80

Listen in here



(Both wines supplied were samples)

Wednesday, 17 August 2011

Swirl Sniff Spit 16 August - Cabernet Sauvignon night!


Cabernet night at Swirl Sniff Spit - Era Bistro 16 August 2011
Another brilliant night and a superb line up of wines. Some belters and even a rabbit pulled out of a hat!
Some wines which caught the eye...

Yalumba Menzies 2007 - Coonawarra. Smooth as silk. Superb drinking. Comment was made, "Menzies has never failed me." Nickos was right. The best was saved til last :)

Murray Street Vineyards - Barossa. Top fruit, spice and oak. Finish is loooong and sensational! Not on the list, but special guest winemaker Andrew pulled this one out. Did I say sensational?

Dalwhinnie Moonambel Cabernet 2008 - Grampians. Seductive nose. Palate weight spot on. Smidge of mint. Elegance!

Wise Lot 80 2009 - Margaret River. Great example of the region. Super nose of oaky goodness. Black fruits. Wonderful mouth feel. Yum.

Bent Road 2005 - Granite Belt. Poor soils. Dynamite used to clear site before planting for crying out loud! Juicy fruit, savoury. Soft, long finish. Giddy up!

Blue Pyrenees 2009 - Stood up to many of the more expensive types well - under $20. Very approachable, simple bottle of deliciousness!

A brilliant night - great company and great wines. Thanks to the @swirlsniffspit crew and @erabistro!

Next month.....Grenache!