Tuesday, 23 January 2018

Blackbilly Shiraz 2014

Aged in oak for 30 months, this is a muscular McLaren Vale Shiraz.


Blackbilly Shiraz 2016

Plenty of action in this number. More than approachable, it's an easy go-to for those seeking a full-bodied Shiraz from McLaren Vale.


Clarence Hill Shiraz 2012


An interesting exercise in part to see this 2012 alongside the 2016. The latter showing its youth whereas this has tipped over the parabola.


Clarence Hill Shiraz 2016


Pretty easy drinking for the asking price. Sourced from various vineyards around Adelaide from what I can gather.


Witches Falls Unwooded Chardonnay 2017


A new label and it's a clever step up from the previous. The word 'co-inoculated' which used to adorn the front label has now been relegated to the back - where it belongs. Bright and fresh Chardy for your drinking pleasure - refreshment factor is high.

Ocean View Estates Wild Ferment Chardonnay 2017


Nestled away in the hills near Dayboro, some 45km north of Brisbane and perched 450m above, you will discover Ocean View Estates. The business has grown considerably in recent years with visitors now regularly swinging by via helicopter and even horseback tours. On-site accommodation plus a multi-award winning restaurant has ensured diners gravitate to the venue, now even more so with a newly constructed function area used for various gatherings and weddings which take place on many weekends.

Monday, 22 January 2018

Dirt Candy The Inheritance Liqueur Muscat NV

Handcrafted and barrel aged, something special sits inside this beautifully packaged bottle. It's the little touches that catch the eye with these Dirt Candy releases. This Liqueur Muscat is hand bottled, hand corked, wax capped by hand, hand stamped and labelled, you guessed it, by hand.

Sunday, 21 January 2018

Ridgemill Estate The Czar Saperavi 2015


Recently awarded a Gold medal at the World Saperavi Competition on the variety's home soil in Georgia. Layered with interest, it is easy to see what the fuss is about.

Ballandean Estate Saperavi 2016


The 2015 vintage was just awarded a gold medal at the World Saperavi Championships in the variety's homeland of Georgia. This comes as a pre-release sample, just to get a gauge where things are at. And I must say, things are looking pretty damn good...

Saturday, 20 January 2018

Angove Nine Vines Grenache Shiraz Rosé 2017

The Nine Vines Grenache Shiraz Rosé first hit the shelves 15 years ago. In that period it has amassed 15 trophies amongst and a host of medals. This 2017 release delivers again with a sure to please style. Ripping value for $16!

Ballandean Estate SSB 2017


Dowse the summer heat with a glass or two of this. Instant cure!

Thursday, 18 January 2018

Ocean View Estates Viognier 2017


Nestled away in the hills near Dayboro, some 45km north of Brisbane and perched 450m above, you will discover Ocean View Estates. The business has grown considerably in recent years with visitors now regularly swinging by via helicopter and even horseback tours. On-site accommodation plus a multi-award winning restaurant has ensured diners gravitate to the venue, now even more so with a newly constructed function area used for various gatherings and weddings which take place on many weekends.

Wednesday, 17 January 2018

Australia's Vintage 2018 Preview

Shiraz - Barossa Valley
Vintage is well underway in the Hunter Valley, NSW. Give it a few weeks and Vintage 2018 will be abuzz across the continent.

For a quick snapshot from around the country, here's a summary from some of Australia's leading winemakers detailing how Vintage 2018 is looking in their respective region.



Schwarz Wine Co Barossa Shiraz 2016

Another Schwarz wine, another performance worth praising. A Shiraz blended from various Barossa vineyards.

Hayes Family Wines Shiraz 2016


Big Shiraz not for the faint-hearted. From Greenock and Ebenezer vineyards, the fruit was hand-picked, fermented on skins for 18 days and sent to new and second use oak for 20 months.

Monday, 15 January 2018

Giant Steps Pinot Noir 2017


Oh my! What a treasure this is - and it's only the vineyard blend. Smooth and seductive, absolutely bang on target Pinot.


First Drop Wines Mother's Milk Barossa Shiraz 2016

It's rich and dense, and as per the back label, it's definitely slurpable. Super tasty Barossa Shiraz for your drinking pleasure.


Shottesbrooke Estate Shiraz 2015


No complaints here. Solid Shiraz in the slot. And it's generous too - an 'everyone's a winner' type.

Saturday, 13 January 2018

Xanadu DJL Chardonnay 2016


I've got great memories of Xanadu. My wife and I had lunch at their restaurant while on our honeymoon in Margaret River well over a decade now. We feasted on marron and were treated to a fabulous tasting and winery tour. A brilliant place and someday I'd love to go back.

I haven't seen many Xanadu wines since actually and this is my first review of one on this site. Funnily enough, this is a wine I shared over a meal with my wife, on the opposite side of the country this time. A great wine to jog the memory.


Witches Falls Wild Ferment Verdelho 2016


A different take on Verdelho moving away from the clean and fresh tropical fruit which adorns most.


Wednesday, 10 January 2018

Even Keel Pinot Noir 2016


To call this an 'entry level' wine for Polperro could be seen as bullying despite the reality. A beautiful wine. So pleasurable and alluring. Sam Coverdale has a knack of demonstrating a fine touch. I lined this up with other Pinots of similar price and vintage - this shone. Big tick.


Witches Falls Wild Ferment Pinot Noir 2017


A number of varieties work well on the Granite Belt. The region is a melting pot of sorts where alternate varieties are making all the noise of late. Pinot Noir has been one variety which has always seemed to swim against the current and never really made a splash. Some wineries have even pulled their Pinot vines such their inability to make it work. I was interested to see how this first release from Witches Fall would shape up though.


Whiskey Gully Wines Reserve Chardonnay 2015

Roast Pork and Chardonnay are great mates. I pulled this out of the cellar for a looksie - and it's looking good too.

Tuesday, 9 January 2018

Punch Down Boys Field Blend 2017

"The laziest wine I have ever made," says Danny Redman.
Along with good mate Tim Bailey, these two wanted to create a Coonawarra Cabernet expressing juicy and bright fruit ready to leap into now. And leap into it you should - this is absolutely delicious!


Cooks Lot Allotment 9 Handpicked Pinot Noir 2016


Gee I like the aromas here. So pretty and inviting. Think red flowers, ripe strawberries, red currants and some twiggy action.


Sunday, 7 January 2018

Gundog Estate Vernon Vineyard Semillon 2014


The Vernon Vineyard hails from Mt View - a gorgeous part of the Hunter Valley. While you're there you should eat at Bistro Molines. Just do it. Super Semillon this too - double thumbs up.

Gundog Estate Sunshine Vineyard Semillon 2014


Hunter Valley Semillon from the ripping 2014 vintage. A ripping wine this is too!

Gundog Estate Somerset Vineyard Semillon 2014


Delicious purity here. Planted in 1965, the Somerset Vineyard sits on sandy loam soils.


Saturday, 6 January 2018

Witches Falls Wild Ferment Chardonnay 2017


Jon Heslop produces quality across the board. Here's another. A Chardonnay to tuck away for a couple of years, mind you, before it unfurls to show its best.


De Bortoli Bella Riva Sangiovese Rosé 2017


The Rosé game is being played hard by clever winemakers now attuned to what consumers seek. Here's a smart take on Sangiovese.


Thursday, 4 January 2018

Singlefile Wines Denmark Family Reserve Chardonnay 2016




Downright delicious and classy. A super Chardy from Denmark in Western Australia!

Rowlee Wines Nebbiolo 2016


On the back of a terrific Chardonnay release from Rowlee Wines comes this Nebbiolo. What a surprise packet this is!

Wednesday, 3 January 2018

The Wishing Tree Shiraz 2016


Here's a handy Shiraz which won't break the bank. A pleaser for sure.


De Bortoli Down The Lane Pinot Grigio Arneis 2016


'Like a dirty wet martini' as per the back label. A tasty little number for splashing about and not to be taken all that seriously. Good drinking.


Tuesday, 2 January 2018

Montrose Stony Creek Chardonnay 2015


From vineyards 500 metres above in Mudgee and with vines ranging from 15-45 years of ages comes this well put together Chardonnay. Recently awarded Best Chardonnay Trophy at the Mudgee Wine Show.